Cigerates Under the Stars.

“You shouldn’t chase bad habits, they’ve a way of leaving you deranged in the middle of nowhere” He let out a puff of grey smoke that danced its way only to immerse in thin air. Though its presence was invisible but I’m sure it has & will always corrupt fresh air.
“I am deranged. And I am stuck in the middle of nowhere. One more bad habit can’t possibly worsen things that are already hopeless for me” I proclaimed, feeling very much like a philosopher. He smiked at me, his dark eyes watching me curiously, “Are you sure?”. My heart skipped a beat. I’ve never been certain of my own existence. How am I supposed to know what surity feels like? I pursed my lips and gazed listlessly at the stars that shone like lanterns, lighting the dark canopy of the night sky. “I am” I heard myself say aloud to, not only his surprise but mine as well. He raised his brows impressively though I’m sure it was his way of mocking me. “Only time will tell” he chimed pleasantly. He was right, only time can tell whether these stars, the moon & the smoke escaping the end of our Cigerate is ever going to coincide, whether he’s going to be another bad habit I’ll need to bury in the back of my head where he’ll always remain trapped.

Like Cigerates under the stars
I can see him burning my scars
Only to light my way ahead
And drag me back from a slumber.

He gives me hope, feeble it may be
But it’s still something

A tiny fragment of desire,
Of affection & life
Is what I see when
I look at him

He’s here now
With me in the dark
As we smoke our Cigerates
Under curiously watchful Stars.

-Nameera.

24 thoughts on “Cigerates Under the Stars.

Leave a comment